Showing posts with label SCOOTA WARNER. Show all posts
Showing posts with label SCOOTA WARNER. Show all posts



Skoota Warner

Skoota Warner To Release New Album 'Vignettes' June 23rd 2015

Featuring DJ Logic, C-Rayz Walz, David Fuiczynski, Hot Tuna and More

April 22nd, 2015 - New York, NY Skoota Warner has been called "The Drummer's Drummer" due to his ability to play anything from ballads to rock, funk to R&B, pop to hip-hop, jazz to blues and everything in-between. All of these influences, and the help of a few good friends, created his new solo album 'Vignettes.' 

The musicians who collaborated in the process are as diverse as one could expect from DJ Logic to Jorma Kaukonen of Hot Tuna who said “Skoota Warner is one of the very best rock drummers I have ever worked with, and I’ve worked with plenty over the last 50 years. Whether Skoota is behind the kit or in front of the band… quite simply, he gets it done… every time!  That’s right… every time! It was an honor for him to ask me to play on his session. I’ll do it again any time!"
Recorded at OWG Studio and Home Studios in New York City ,  ‘Vignettes’ is a collection of songs that Skoota describes as an eclectic mix of rhythms and genres of music that have greatly influenced him:  “It’s a labor of love composed of snippets of everything I love.”  A truly collaborative effort with a diverse group of guests, the album was created both via file sharing and live in the studio.

Also on the record is David Fiuczynski of Screaming Headless Torsos:  “Working with Skoota is an absolute blast!  He plays with this infectious joy and has the greasiest, most beautiful pocket in the business!  As far as I’m concerned, Skoota is the Cadillac of drummers!!!”
Click here to play Man Of Value (Cleared for posting):

After high school Skoota moved to New York City to chase his drumming dreams. He started out as a street musician playing for tips in front of The Plaza Hotel.  Here, he caught the attention of Pepeu Gomes and Baby Consuelo, Brazil’s top pop artists.  At only 18, Skoota left for Brazil where he played gigs with Pepeu and recorded several albums.  

After two years, he returned to New York, sharp from his South American experiences, landing him gigs with blues musicians Johnny Copeland and Johnny Johnson as well as joining the house band for the famed Apollo Theater’s Amateur Night; backing up R & B, Funk, and Hip-Hop talents such as Keith SweatBig Daddy KaneBiz MarkieDoug E. Fresh, and Special Ed.  Skoota became known for his impromptu breakbeat rhythms on stage.

In 1989, Omar Hakim, New York’s premier session drummer chose Skoota to be the drummer for hisRhythm Deep Project. “Skoota nails it,” said Hakim. “He’s a Drummer’s Drummer!”

In 1996 Skoota released his first solo record 'NGA Style' on Popular/Radikal Records which charted on Billboard's Hot Rap Singles.  The same year, he and three other friends formed the band Ra, an alternative metal band that saw success with the release of their first EP after WAAF in Boston championed the band by putting their track Do You Call My Name into heavy rotation. This led to their debut album for Univeral Records 'From One' getting to #14 on the Billboard 200 in 2003. 

Since the nineties, Skoota has played for some of the hottest artists of all time - SantanaThe B’52's,Lionel RichieCyndi LauperMary J. BligePatrick Stump, the Brecker BrothersMatisyahu,Yerba Buena and Philippe Saisse. He was also a member of Dave Koz & The Kozmos, the house band for The Emeril Lagasse Show. In 2009, he began touring with Jefferson Airplane founding members, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame guitarist Jorma Kaukonen and bassist Jack Casady of Hot Tuna fame and also currently plays in Cyndi Lauper's band.

Why such a long wait to make another solo album? Skoota explains: "I write music all the time and really missed recording and producing my own songs. I’ve experienced a lot personally and musically over the past twenty years and felt the time was right to put out another CD.  Getting to work with my very talented friends was fantastic and made the project come to life."

 Vignettes Tracklisting:

1. Odyssey 

2.  Man of Value (Feat. C-Rayz Walz and Sahaj Ticotin)

3.  Still in Love (Feat. C-Rayz Walz and Kelli Sae)

4. Deserving Heart (Feat. Kelli Sae)

5. MoBo (Feat. David Fiuczynski, DJ Logic and Kelli Sae)

6. Al and Oscar

7.  U Oughta Know (Feat. Donna Angelle)

8.  U Oughta Jam

9.  Ensemble of ArtJah (Feat. DJ Logic)

10.  B.I.G. C-Rayz (Feat. C-Rayz Walz and DJ Logic)

11. Before I Let Go My Zydeco (Feat. Donna Angelle and Sara Devine)

12.  About This Love (Feat. Kelli Sae)

13.  Changes (Feat. Karen Bernod and Kelli Sae)

14.  Quimfuze (Feat. David Fiuczynski, DJ Logic)

15.  Without a Melody

16.  Nothing Left  (Feat. DJ Logic, C-Rayz Walz and Kelli Sae )

17.  Mo' MoBo (Feat. Hot Tuna)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...